Whoa! I was talking about the horror stories of losing GitHub account in a several of my latest comments/threads and I get to see another one. Why wouldn't they send out a notice, at least, before deactivating an old, active account?
They could send out a notice to old email when they see a recent email change. When people change their email address in a service, that doesn't mean the old, verified email is completely useless.