Hacker Newsnew | past | comments | ask | show | jobs | submitlogin

No and no. My guess is that it's done using a flag in their db.

user_active = 0

or perhaps more efficiantly

user_deactivated = [date]



Actually, there is a difference between deactivating and deleting your Facebook profile.

However, I still don't think Facebook removes all user data once an account is deleted. Might have to dig into the TOS to find out.


In the UK you can request the company (for a payment of costs) to provide details of all personal information they hold on you.




Guidelines | FAQ | Lists | API | Security | Legal | Apply to YC | Contact

Search: