I had to trim my OP to fit the 2000 character limit (which, per my text editor's statistics, appears to be mis-measured at least against the text as input).
I'm a long time Gmail user. This prompt was new, this morning. It appears to be part of Google's relentless drive to push everyone to "one account" where all their personal data -- including bookmarks, etc. -- is synchronized to / stored on their servers.
Google: I don't appreciate this "resistance is futile" approach. Knock it off, please!
AND, please provide some clear links to full descriptions of what is going on particularly with respect to these settings, on your Account Settings pages. Thanks.
Well, as usual, Google's immediate help -- via a search pop-up from the Account settings page that links to the page where this setting is presented; there is no help linked/provided on the actual page -- is useless.
Searching from the Google home page, I ran across this chain of links. It still provides no description of whether/when this setting is activated. As my tab, bookmark, etc. settings did not carry over automatically to this instance of Chrome when I started using it, I am brought to conclude that this morning's annoying and unwelcome pop-up did indeed turn on this synchronization setting for my account. And that the thereupon/thereafter presented "Undo" button was bullshit -- it didn't undo the synchronization setting.
I'm a long time Gmail user. This prompt was new, this morning. It appears to be part of Google's relentless drive to push everyone to "one account" where all their personal data -- including bookmarks, etc. -- is synchronized to / stored on their servers.
Google: I don't appreciate this "resistance is futile" approach. Knock it off, please!
AND, please provide some clear links to full descriptions of what is going on particularly with respect to these settings, on your Account Settings pages. Thanks.