Hacker Newsnew | past | comments | ask | show | jobs | submitlogin

I can accept your reason partially, but just another question, should Chrome confirm me before remove them all?


> should Chrome confirm me before remove them all?

1. I am sitting at Chrome right now, Version 25.0.1364.152.

2. I choose "Settings".

3. I choose "History".

4. I choose "Clear all browsing data ...". See the ellipsis? That means it won't take any action until I allow it.

5. Next, I see a dialog that says:

    Clear all Browsing data

    Obliterate the following items from the past hour/day/week/month/etc.: 
 
      ☑ Clear browsing history
      ☑ Clear download history
      ☑ Empty the cache
      ☑ Delete cookies and other site and plug-in data
      ☑ Clear saved passwords 
      ☑ Clear saved Autofill form data 
      ☑ Clear data from hosted apps
      ☑ Deauthorize content licenses

             [Cancel] [Clear Browsing Data]
6. Here's a picture of the dialog: http://i.imgur.com/Du84Y4O.png

7. At this point, I have the choice to [Cancel] or [Clear Browsing Data]. Nothing happens without my permission.

So tell me -- what Chrome version are you running, that doesn't have a very complete way to alert you to what's going on?

I invite you to go to your Chrome settings page and see if your experience differs, and also say what Chrome version you are running.




Guidelines | FAQ | Lists | API | Security | Legal | Apply to YC | Contact

Search: