Fixed! Thanks for the suggestion. There was a whole read-only mode already there for when the process closes. I just didn't think of using it when the user is logged out.
reply
> When authorized, the GitHub App will be able to determine which resources you can access that the app can also access.
The 'app' is used for login only. It has no access to resources.