This looks like requesting an approximate position assisting the gps to to get the precise position. I'd bet all agps devices do it in this way; before the confirmation dialog, because it gives the optimal user experience. If they waited for confirmation to download the agps data, you'd haveto wait more to grt your location. Even if you don't want to get your location now, it makes sense to cache them because you are likely to want it in the near future. These are the same data iPhone was found to cache and back up.
You're certainly spot on in my opinion. Thinking about it, I think the key thing is that they're "caching" but not necessarily "using" the info. If they don't use it at all, then it is what it is but what they're doing is likely in the best interest of the user for a seemless experience.
I agree, but it all comes down to what they are sending. Sending "some anonymous device (assuming they cab truly keep things anonymous, a non-trivia, task!) is around here" is probably OK. Sending "device ae4f3297ffd is around here" is most likely not ok at all.
I agree, they are sending more info than they need to, in the same way Apple didn't need to store these data for so long or back them up on a computer. In both cases I don't think there is malice, but it's good people actually check what is going on and force vendors to take privacy seriously.