Hacker Newsnew | past | comments | ask | show | jobs | submitlogin

Correct. Don't blame the feature. It's designed to protect from lost phones. Not only can IT wipe your phone (presumably at your request), but you can actually wipe your own phone from Outlook Web Access.

What's interesting is this: the ability to hook up a phone via ActiveSync (the protocol in question) can be configured per account. If IT did not want him to hook up his phone, they should have not given him those rights. Wiping devices like this is a bad idea.

But don't blame the feature.

(full disclosure: I work on the MS Exchange team)





Guidelines | FAQ | Lists | API | Security | Legal | Apply to YC | Contact

Search: