It already knows if you are using Android. Assuming you didn't turn off location history. I left it turned on because: a) Google finds out where I am in many ways and b) it actually is more than just for diagnosis, so it provides me better results etc.
True, I thought it was kind of funny that they're just now getting around to allowing you to share with 'friends and family' when we've been sharing our location with google this whole time...as if our relationship with google is more intimate.