It's been a while since I first installed Chrome, so I don't remember exactly, but doesn't it prompt you to let you know about this? Despite some of the privacy allegations against Google in the past, I've found they've always been very clear about privacy implications with using their downloadable desktop software. The Google toolbar, for instance, warns you explicitly when you enable features (like Page Rank meter) that would result in information being sent to Google.