Hacker News new | past | comments | ask | show | jobs | submit login

"Can be turned off at any time" means "will never be turned off by 99.99% of our users".



"...it starts currently as opt-in". Not a massive fan of that "currently".

I don't own a smartphone and deleted my FB account years ago, but this still makes me squirm.


I propose "surveillance creep" as a label for the concern. Cf. "feature creep."




Applications are open for YC Winter 2020

Guidelines | FAQ | Support | API | Security | Lists | Bookmarklet | Legal | Apply to YC | Contact

Search: