"An item you recently removed from your Google Drive folder has been moved
to your trash on drive.google.com.
This item is just a link. If you empty your trash on
drive.google.com, this item will be permanently deleted."
You can't actually write a decent warning message, because if you did, it would sound so ridiculous, you would never actually be able to live with it.
We noticed some files have been removed from your Google
We can't tell the difference between you moving files
from your Google Drive folder to another folder on your
hard drive, and you simply deleting files from your
Google Drive folder.
We're going to guess that you performed a delete, and so
we've also moved the actual document, which is stored in
the cloud, to your Trash folder on drive.google.com.
If you actually moved files out of your Google Drive
folder to another folder on your hard drive, you might
think that file you have on your computer is a copy of
the source material. Alas, it is not.
Please understand that file you may have on your
computer right now is just a link to the item in the
cloud, which is currently sitting in the Trash. You
DO NOT actually have a copy of item itself on your hard
If you empty your trash in the cloud, you will be
permanently deleting the only copy in existence of this
Make it as as simple as possible, but no simpler.
Conflating hyperlinks with the actual content to the point where deleting the hyperlink causes the content to move to the trash is nonsensical.