On the bottom left corner, you'll see they tell you that they'll send a message to your chosen contacts. You can also edit the message.
The text is really small. I may not have noticed it had I not been looking for it. Also, I don't know when this was added.
I also think it's important to notice that the big, friendly button says "Agreed". "Agreed" doesn't lead me to think that it will send a message, just that I will vouch for them.
No one would press that. Hence the fraud.