Hacker Newsnew | comments | show | ask | jobs | submit login

No, it definitely uploaded them. They are in my G+ account. The notification says ready to be shared.



Indeed, happened to my very privacy sensitive colleague while setting up his new S3 (he had no prior G+ account, so he got a new one). This may depend on what type of account you have and what terms you have agreed to.

-----


Then you opted to allow automatic uploads. When you first opened Google+ (which is not installed by default), you were asked whether to automatically upload photos. You chose yes.

http://support.google.com/plus/answer/1304818

-----


"yes yes yes yes whatever, just let me use the service"

That's the same way malware/toolbars get installed...

-----


No, I definitely did not. Believe what you want.

-----


I can confirm this happens by default on Samsung phones (both att branded and unlocked) as soon as you create a g account

-----


How did you confirm that? Google+ on my Galaxy S III asked me whether I wanted to allow it to upload pictures on first launch (not surprising as it runs the same G+ app as every other device). Of course most people will simply do what nnnnni stated, which is a "sure whatever" clickpast (which Google knows and takes advantage of), and forever more declare it unwanted, mysterious behavior.

-----


   1. buy new note2 from att, register google account, skip samsung and att setup.
   2. buy new s3 from amazon unlocked, register google account, skip samsung setup.
   3. never even open G+ app on both phones
   4. take a picture
   5. wait an hour
   6. you get a notification "pictures you took are ready for sharing" i.e. they are already uploaded against your will and out of your knowledge.

-----




Guidelines | FAQ | Support | API | Security | Lists | Bookmarklet | DMCA | Apply to YC | Contact

Search: