Hacker Newsnew | comments | show | ask | jobs | submit login

I've seen something like this. It could be a situation where they were transitioning from that backup service to their own server or another service, and the move was never completed due to some hiccup or priority change.

But if no one is watching to ensure the move was finished (or they got distracted), then something many people treat as set-it-and-forget-it could easily get into that state.




If you are transitioning from one backup service to another, shouldn't you only cancel your old service, after you successful set up and tested the new one?

-----




Guidelines | FAQ | Support | API | Security | Lists | Bookmarklet | DMCA | Apply to YC | Contact

Search: