Hacker News new | comments | show | ask | jobs | submit login
PSA: There is a leap second tomorrow, are your systems ready?
1 point by jedberg 1490 days ago | hide | past | web | 2 comments | favorite
Tomorrow, June 30th, a leap second will be added just before midnight UTC (5pm Pacific/8pm Eastern)

Most standard date libraries handle this edge case, but if you are doing any of your own hand rolled date/time processing, you might want to make sure you can handle this edge case (the existence of 23:59:60).

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Leap_second




Always useful in times like this: http://tf.nist.gov/timefreq/general/pdf/1788.pdf particularly the section "Dating Events in the Vicinity of a Leap Second".


I've been reminding folks here for a month. Our NTP servers are locked and loaded. I'm tempted to hang a webcam in front of one of them and screencap 23:59:60 for the people here who are still confuzzled over the whole concept.




Guidelines | FAQ | Support | API | Security | Lists | Bookmarklet | DMCA | Apply to YC | Contact

Search: