Hacker News new | comments | show | ask | jobs | submit login

You realize that's not true? If you choose to enable the "Contact Sync" (the only time when they are sent your device's contacts), this page is shown: http://static.guim.co.uk/sys-images/Technology/Pix/pictures/... Unlike the Path scandal earlier this year, Facebook has done a consistently reasonable job warning people about what they are doing (as well as having the feature off-by-default and, even if you want to use it, somewhat difficult to access).



Are you sure that is true on Android? I don't remember where I was first told about this issue but the app does request read and write contact data permissions, https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.facebook.k...


It has to request it on install if it is ever going to use it at all.




Guidelines | FAQ | Support | API | Security | Lists | Bookmarklet | DMCA | Apply to YC | Contact

Search: