Hacker News new | past | comments | ask | show | jobs | submit login

Not sure if that is a good or a bad thing. Would really really annoy me, tough. If I reinstall an OS, I do it because I want a clean plate, everything back to "standard". Opening my old tabs in my browser tells me, that it kept various config/temp files, which is probably what I wanted to get rid of.



If you want to lose all of your user settings, create a new user account and nuke the old one.

If you want to replace various bits of the system, reinstall the OS.

These are different scenarios with different use-cases, and I'd argue it's a much worse idea to conflate the behaviours, as in certain other OSes, than OS X's fault for properly treating them as separate operations.


User and System files are separate in Unix.

It's a good thing.




Guidelines | FAQ | Support | API | Security | Lists | Bookmarklet | Legal | Apply to YC | Contact

Search: