(DressRush also benefits from the inevitable knockoffs since, if they get mentioned, it will likely be in the same breath as "The concept was, of course, stolen directly from <linky>DressRush's ridiculously beautiful pitch deck</linky>.)
the landing page is http://www.dressrush.com/*ohhai*
A simple web page with the same infographics would tell me the same story, take less time to design, print well, work everywhere, and (in my humble opinion) look just as good.
That said, as actual navigation I didn't find the buttons very usable. It would have been nice if there was a visual clue somewhere that the left and right keyboard arrows work.
And good idea about giving some sort of visual cue the keyboard buttons work. I think I might work on something to indicate that. Thanks!
$.17 per click X 33% conversion...
I just ran an experiment with google ads for dating keywords. There were a few gaffs with hugely expensive keywords but overall, $2.45 CPC. We spent $200 and ended up with 1 conversion. Totally amateur, I know.
From other research I've seen, I think conversions tend to be way lower than the double digits. Like people first click on your ad and then check out and pay you money. From the per click of your ad they are often in the single digits or fractions of a percent.
It's a great looking pitch deck. Im concerned that they skewed their focus a little too much on looks over sound information.
Edit: Seems the company is live and moving product to real customers? If those are the numbers they're actually acquiring customers at, I take it back however improbable from my limited experience.
The business model is then "Most people don't buy anything and have LTV of $0, some people buy one thing, and a fraction of people make a habit of buying from you. You optimize such that the people who buy stuff subsidize cost of customer acquisition for everyone else and then some, then scale like crazy while keeping an eye on those metrics.")
See also AppSumo / Groupon / etc. This is why they're all very aggressive about getting email signups: this space runs on email.
It's a really good example of picking the right set of numbers to highlight, which seems to be a big problem people run into when creating pitches.
So this sounds believable actually.
Also, the LTV is 5-7x the CCA, which it says is 0.55, so that means the LTV is about $3 ? That seems very low given their market. I wonder if they are counting "converted" as something other than "sold a product."
I'm not sure the figures add up.
Alternatively, given prices like those they put on the big price tag on the "Problems / Solutions" slide ($150), $3 sounds about right for the affiliate/kickback benefit they'd get from the retailer.
On the "Problems / Solutions" slide: "save ... up to 100% off retail" says absolutely nothing, except perhaps that the author doesn't know how percents work. "save ... up to 100%" means "save somewhere between nothing and everything".
On the graph in the "Customer Acquisition" slide, the "reduce customer acquisition cost through SEO" point implies a lower cost to acquire a customer, not a higher long-term value per customer.
The "Traction" slide provides four useful figures, attached to giant meaningless arrows made of up-and-to-the-rightium.
This pitch still sits on a webpage, so why don't the logos on the "Press Coverage" slide link to the actual coverage?
Their math doesn't compute?
2.7M weddings * (14+152) people per wedding =
445.5 million people * 28k $/wedding =
2.7M weddings * 28k $/wedding = 75.6B $
It certainly looks beautiful, but the information is lacking. Also, 31% conversion rate?!!
Nice looking deck though :)
I know that lots of rw shopping experiences have translated very well online, but this one is so social (indeed it is pretty much a rite of passage) that I imagine it is going to be challenging to replicate online.
Also, forgive my stupidity, but $90k of product 'moved' (sold?) / 2803 = $32 means not just dresses and if so, is the name totally appropriate? Plus with weddings taking 12 months+ to arrange, what is the rush...
It seemed to me like the authors of the deck are trying to sell low cost bridal, but when they need pictures, they're going far more upmarket (that's $1500 after their discount, not before). That seems to me to be stretching the truth somewhat.
> Our curated collections save brides up to 100% off retail.
So they give away dresses free? If they mean they cut the price in half, then it's save 50% off retail. That's a pretty common mistake.
Double going up, half coming down.
Edit: Btw, I think this presentation/slide deck is awesome.
I actually thought it was a good slide since I went, "WTF? ...oh wait, yeah, that could be right" - good way to wake up critical thinking type people and get them paying attention if they were zoning out.
If it's used in the context you're suggesting then it's a meaningless snippet of information as it doesn't reveal anything about the typical user experience.
Just hiring a wedding photographer can average between 5 and 10 grand (and that's not to hire Annie Leibowitz).
I charge on the low end of that average and I'm "cheap".
This is without the price of the ring and honeymoon.
My source is personal experience, and that of my friends, but also see:
Where did we use the extra $$? Property.
(Obviously, I'm biased because of how me & Erin got married).
That's one of the bridal-industrial complex's best coups ever. (The entire notion of surprise engagements and diamond rings was pretty much created out of whole cloth by De Beers in the 1920s. See this excellent article by Atlantic Magazine -- one of the best pieces of journalism I've ever read, and as relevant today as when it was written nearly 30 years ago. http://www.theatlantic.com/magazine/archive/1982/02/have-you... )
My wife and I did catered turkey dinner at a church hall for 130 people. DJ was a guy who owed me a favor. Total cost was about $11k.
If you rent a more expensive place and do a barebones dinner, you're looking at $45/head + a couple grand for the hall, plus dress, band/dj, etc. It adds up!
It's a work of art!
I'd give people a way to print out or download your deck so that associates can hand a hard copy to the investing partner.
Edit: Also really quick, not sure if this is the correct use of market size. What is your actual segmented address market? 28k is the average wedding but that must be skewed by 500k+ weddings. Next, I'd like to know how your 2.0 products are going to be able to capture pieces of the market you're not in already (maybe this returns better margins at a higher acquisition cost? not necessarily .55 flat).
Otherwise, the presentation looks amazing and it's interesting to see a company be so open about their deck.
On one hand, the hosts will provide certain things for each guest. Invitations, individual decorations, etc. It's not like Rose & Billy can skimp on their flower budget because Marcie & John had nice bouquets at their wedding last month.
On the other hand, each guest will bring their own gift. In case of a themed wedding, they will probably buy something for that specific occasion.
(Maybe a local tailor solves this problem though).
A little embarrassed to ask b/c I'm guessing it may be obvious to those who use these tools every day (not me, though).
The "500 Startups" Logo sticks out like a very sore thumb.
The final number itself isn't flawed, but the graphical equation on the deck does have the math symbols in the wrong places.