Hacker News new | past | comments | ask | show | jobs | submit login

Can anyone clarify if temporarily disabling FaceID (holding volume + side button) puts the device back into the BFU state?



No, at least based on the info given in the thread. Apps need access to unencrypted data to perform background tasks and disabling FaceID in this way doesn’t have any effect on those tasks; otherwise it would be a confusing user experience.




Guidelines | FAQ | Lists | API | Security | Legal | Apply to YC | Contact

Search: