Hacker News new | past | comments | ask | show | jobs | submit login

I guess a lot of times it’s for security or to minimize storage over time. Sometimes you are only logged in for the browser session, so if you close it, it removes your session. Most smaller sites do have the remember me button to opt in for longer sessions and do not implement a session renew feature.





> Sometimes you are only logged in for the browser session, so if you close it, it removes your session.

Probably, and this shouldn't be a thing. Except maybe for banks, but even then, it's debatable. Here's a handy list of cases when I want to be logged out:

1. I click the log out button.

Which I don't ever do either, because it's my personal device.




Guidelines | FAQ | Support | API | Security | Lists | Bookmarklet | Legal | Apply to YC | Contact

Search: