When you send a message to another account, it's in their account now. Of course it's not going to disappear along with your account.
This had been the canonical behavior of messaging clients for forever. Email obviously, but also IM, chat find, etc. (Trying to remember about BBSs.) Once you press send it's not yours anymore.
This should 100% be the expectation of users anywhere they go. Once you press send, do not count on being able to withdraw it under any circumstances.
Does this genuinely surprise people or is it a slow news day at TechCrunch?
> When you use features like Direct Messages to communicate, remember that recipients have their own copy of your communications on Twitter - even if you delete your copy of those messages from your account - which they may duplicate, store, or re-share.
I was gonna say... I don't think techcrunch cares whether something is a story as much as they care whether it's a headline.
The question IMO is, at what point should you stop storing a message that no user can actually access anymore? That data is not good to keep for anyone, since both sender and recipient expressed a desire to delete it.
The EULA for AIM was such that your messages became AOL’s intellectual property. Not only that you could not sue AOL Time Warner for possibly scripting and producing a movie and thus profiting from one of your instant message conversations or chat transcripts, but that maybe they could sue you for trying to do the same, and win.
I had this feeling, the moment that showed up in the news, that AOL’s days were numbered, and I was right. Other companies soon released chat functions, including Google and Facebook, and now AIM is gone. It was a signal that AIM was unsuitable for enterprise messaging, and no one excpet teenagers should bother with it, and wventually the teenagers that did use it, grew out of it, and moved on, and the rest is history.
>Once an account has been deactivated, there is a very brief period in which we may be able to access account information, including Tweets.
I don't treat this feature as something bad, maybe it was a typo in message or just miss-click, so, allow to modify it. Maybe I sent some intimate information and don't want to keep it in history but trust person wouldn't screen it.
Maybe, instead of thinking that language is ephemeral, we should realize that what we say has lasting consequences. Maybe then we wont be so mad when we can't take what we said back.
It's never gone.
> We keep Log Data for a maximum of 18 months. If you follow the instructions here (or for Periscope here), your account will be deactivated and then deleted. When deactivated, your Twitter account, including your display name, username, and public profile, will no longer be viewable on Twitter.com, Twitter for iOS, and Twitter for Android. For up to 30 days after deactivation it is still possible to restore your Twitter account if it was accidentally or wrongfully deactivated.
And they require developers to delete them too:
> If Twitter Content is deleted, gains protected status, or is otherwise suspended, withheld, modified, or removed from the Twitter Service (including removal of location information), you will make all reasonable efforts to delete or modify such Twitter Content (as applicable) as soon as reasonably possible, and in any case within 24 hours after a request to do so by Twitter or by a Twitter user with regard to their Twitter Content, unless otherwise prohibited by applicable law or regulation, and with the express written permission of Twitter.
When I worked at Gnip this requirement was a constant headache for customers, precisely because deleting data is so hard.
When the user deletes something, it is not destroyed instantly. Instead, it is rendered inaccessible to a broad class or ordinary users. Meanwhile, the systems do still retain the ostensibly deleted data, even if for an hour or 30 minutes, while other, more powerful actors might still have the ability to access and read something the individual thinks is destroyed and gone forever.
"It goes in the recycle bin, it'll be gone for good in a couple weeks" is perfectly intuitive, even if database flags are confusing.
"marked as deleted" is not the same as "deleted".
A lesson on how to delete user data but still keep it. RE the headline, i'm not sure. "News flash, mega tech corp thats business model is based on accumulating data has been accumulating lots of user data."
 Details: Clicking on Preferences -> Privacy -> Delete history (OS X), or Options -> Privacy Settings -> Clear history (Windows) pretends to delete the voice/video messages but it merely hides them from your view. If you re-install Skype on the same computer or run Skype on a different computer, all those "deleted" voice mails and video messages re-appear. The delete and clear buttons don’t do what they claim.
A general privacy principle is that if the user requests the service provider to delete the user's data, then the service provider should comply, unless there are legal injunctions.
It's arguable about user expectation for direct messages on twitter, given there is a sender and receiver and Twitter in the middle, but what is not arguable is that if both users delete the message or their accounts, then the messages should not be retained by the Twitter.
Man that comment popped up a bunch in that blog post, lol.
Tape is no excuse to violating data retention policies.
My guess is that the data is removed on production and recovery sites. The data will be left on tape since they will most likely never see the light of day again.
More recently it’s “in” for their business decisions, with the relicensing and the rise of API-compatible alternatives pushing some users away.
But yeah, really no reason to mock them in this discussion, apart from going for internet cool points from an audience that may also be critical of Mongo.