Hacker Newsnew | comments | show | ask | jobs | submit login

I signed up yesterday for a friend of mine and when I saw the cheapest plan at $49.95 I just grabbed the free one and upgraded to the $24 plan.

I thought it was a glitch in the pricing screen (and my friend still thinks I am seeing things).




It doesn't sound deliberate, but many pricing discrimination schemes work exactly like this: For someone who can afford it and is in a hurry, they pay $x. For people who are unwilling to 'flop' their chequebook, you give them the free option and offer an upgrade that is $(x/2).

Neatly captures the surplus while hiding the $(x/2) price from people willing to pay $x when they sign up.

-----




Applications are open for YC Winter 2016

Guidelines | FAQ | Support | API | Security | Lists | Bookmarklet | DMCA | Apply to YC | Contact

Search: