Hacker News new | past | comments | ask | show | jobs | submit login

> By the way, rm does work like that. The file will just be marked as deleted (by removing its entry from the filesystem index), but will remain on your disk for some time afterwards, from some minutes to months. If you want to ensure deletion, you should be using shred.

This is true, but it's worth noting that not overwriting your own data on a machine you physically own as an optimization is very different behavior from not overwriting someone else's data on your server when they request that you delete it.




I couldn't agree more.




Guidelines | FAQ | Support | API | Security | Lists | Bookmarklet | Legal | Apply to YC | Contact

Search: