Hacker News new | past | comments | ask | show | jobs | submit login
Ask HN: Is `Crossover' a legitimate employer?
3 points by stas12 on Jan 18, 2017 | hide | past | web | favorite
(Please note: I'm not asking about a piece of software under the same name.)

Recently I almost got lured by a company named Crossover [1], but a quick google search for - pardon me - "crossover scam" returned a number of threads, e.g. [2]. Anyway, I clicked the `apply' button and I was redirected to their website with the same job description... and half the salary.

What makes me even more suspicious:

- lots of companies are listed under their TX address. Some of them have or had similar modes of operation [3]. Some of them are claimed to be their clients (e.g. `DevFactory' IIRC).

- People on Stackoverflow are discussing this very same question [4].

- They answer the following question in their own FAQ: "Are you one of those Nigerian scams?" (sic) [5]

- Offered job titles seem overly inflated. Are there that many Software Architect vacancies?

- Whenever somebody brings up this topic some other noname kicks in with their love story.

- I never heard of a piece of work done by them nor about a client of theirs.

If the company is NOT legitimate then where is the trap? If it is - then why worry about "Nigerian scam"?

[1] http://stackoverflow.com/jobs/companies/crossover

[2] https://www.quora.com/Is-CrossOver-too-good-to-be-true

[3] http://gteamexposed.blogspot.com/

[4.1] http://meta.stackexchange.com/questions/264115/there-seems-to-be-a-fake-company-on-careers

[4.2] http://meta.stackoverflow.com/questions/317896/the-crossover-job-ads-have-a-funny-smell

[5] https://www.crossover.com/faq

Guidelines | FAQ | Support | API | Security | Lists | Bookmarklet | Legal | Apply to YC | Contact