Hacker News new | comments | ask | show | jobs | submit login

> systemd is adding functionality to kill all of a user's process when the session ends

They actually added the functionality over 5 years ago. Which is when the tmux project was approached to accept a patch to support pam (not systemd) in order to not be killed.

http://tmux-users.narkive.com/LXp72CHV/pam-support-in-tmux

All they did recently was try to change the default configuration to enable the feature by default.




... as well as, as pointed out twice on this page, not answer in all those years the question that Nicholas Marriott posed about why they are not pushing this at GNU libc, so that everyone can benefit from a better daemon() function that escapes the systemd login session as well as the kernel's login session.

> Shouldn't this code be part of glibc instead of tmux? -- Nicholas Marriott, 2011

> If you want to change how processes daemonize, why don't you change how daemon() is implemented [...] ? -- Nicholas Marriott, 2016

* https://news.ycombinator.com/item?id=11798173

* https://news.ycombinator.com/item?id=11798328


Tomorrows systemd hate post:

Systemd developer asks libc to add systemd specific code


That's just unfounded silliness. There's no reason to suppose that, and plenty of reason (given that they've actually had systemd-specific stuff, such as subreapers, fairly uncontroversially put into the kernel in years gone past) not to.


It may be silly, but I think there is plenty of reason to think that if systemd developers proposed adding systemd support to daemon(3) there would be an even larger negative response.

This whole comment thread is about an optional feature that has existed for 5 years and only recently had its default value changed. You are not affected unless you are running a bleeding edge distribution that has already upgraded to a version of systemd released 5 days ago.

I don't think a more long term solution will present itself in the near future and most likely what will happen is that the default will get changed back to disabled.


This feature has its place in some cases. For example, a public terminal that wants to make sure that users didn't leave anything running. I'm fine with this feature existing. I'm not okay with it becoming the default option. Changing the default behavior implies some endorsement of it for general use, not just in special cases.




Guidelines | FAQ | Support | API | Security | Lists | Bookmarklet | Legal | Apply to YC | Contact

Search: